SNAFU #1

Before I mention my cloud of the day, here are some sunshine moments; I made some killer vegan pizza for dinner, got 4 visitors to make the freezing trek to farm house for dinner, and finally talked to my new college adviser. After explaining to him my passions and ideas at Carleton and beyond, he asked me for advice on what he should buy for lunch. So much trust for so little time.

pizza dough in the morning. 12 c white flour, 1.5 c whole wheat, 3/4 cup olive oil, 5+ c cold water, 5 tsp salt and herbs of choice. knead for 5 minutes. form in 8 balls and chill until 2 hours before oven time. bake at high heat (500-800 degrees)

pizza dough in the morning. 12 c white flour, 1.5 c whole wheat, 3/4 cup olive oil, 5+ c cold water, 5 tsp salt and herbs of choice. knead for 5 minutes. form in 8 balls and chill until 2 hours before oven time. bake at high heat (500-800 degrees)

making my lunch, a more diversified pb&j: almond butter, craisins, sesame seeds, and cinnamon.

making my lunch, a more diversified pb&j: almond butter, craisins, sesame seeds, and cinnamon.

pizza sauce: sauteed onions, garlic, and carrots, equal parts tomato sauce and canned whole tomatoes, olive oil and herbs.

pizza sauce: sauteed onions, garlic, and carrots, equal parts tomato sauce and canned whole tomatoes, olive oil and herbs.

vegan pizzaa.... roasted sweet potatoes, onions, uncheese (navy beans, nutritional yeast, olive oil, salt, tumeric, and cayanne pepper SMASHED), pepperoni-flavor marinated tofu (google that, I did), and green peppers

vegan pizzaa…. roasted sweet potatoes, onions, uncheese (navy beans, nutritional yeast, olive oil, salt, tumeric, and cayanne pepper SMASHED), pepperoni-flavor marinated tofu (google that, I did), and green peppers

nom nom nom

nom nom nom

Now for the cloud- my first vegan SNAFU.

Situation Normal All F‘ed Up. That sums up a lot of things in our world right now– climate change, the stock market, and our food system. Today my veganism encountered SNAFU number one, a soy protein drink with isolated milk protein hidden amidst the ingredients. I didn’t notice it in my rush to buy a snack before class, or as I gulped it down on my walk to class, but right before I threw it away, in tiny print, the word milk jumped out at me (as a proper Wisconsinite, I can spot milk from a mile away). Shit. This is a what the hell ingredient. One of those things my grandma wouldn’t eat.

“It is extracted from cow’s milk via a filtration process that separates the protein from the milk.

80% casein, 20% Whey protien isolate

The filtration process used to create milk protein isolate removes many of the nutrients that aid in strengthening your immune system, according to the American Dietetic Association”

Upon further reading, it doesn’t seem all that bad. But it sure isn’t vegan and because the average American over-consumes protein, I am not going treat it like I do cloves, cinnamon, and peanuts (a little sprinkle on everything).
Leave a Reply

