take it easy

it’s Wednesday (or at least it was 13 minutes ago).

At noon, I got a typhoid shot in preparation for study abroad in Peru. I don’t remember the name of the doctor that saw me, all I know is that he “strongly recommended” that I get this vaccine and that he is a doctor. That is all it took. When the nurse asked me which arm to jab it in, I didn’t know so she went for the strong one on the right. She said it wouldn’t hurt but I wish I could cut my arm off or at least duct tape it to my body so it can’t move.

Maybe I am amplifying the feeling because I don’t understand this strange substance that is trying to rush through my body and help me. I feel like my arm is confused and trying to fight the vaccine’s spread and that even though it is 12 hours later there is still a swell of typhoid vaccine in my right shoulder trying to diffuse into the rest of my body. It hurts but Geof gave me some good advice, “take it easy.”

Taking it easy isn’t as easy as it sounds. Especially when you are used to flailing your arm around with the greatest of ease, or when you are in a routine of running every day, or when there is a certain angle of pressure surrounding you and you can’t quite seem power through it, at least not with ease. Taking it easy is hard when you think about what the money you spend on a health assessment to study abroad ($165) and a preventative vaccine ($155) while all around you are people who are not even sure where their next meal will come from or where they are going to sleep tonight. Taking it easy is difficult because you are complaining about how your arm is throbbing from a typhoid shot while people are shooting each other and being shot.

But that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t take it easy.

dinner!! roasted kale, ginger salad, lentil potato stew and biscuits (not pictured but in my belly)

dinner!! roasted kale, ginger salad, lentil potato stew and biscuits (not pictured but in my belly)

vegan breakfast eating at Sayles: options: toast, oatmeal, bagel. Options for everyone else; dozens of different delicious baked goods. But my toast was toasty and cheap (80c) and the lady behind the counter was very kind :)

vegan breakfast eating at Sayles: options: toast, oatmeal, bagel. Options for everyone else; dozens of different delicious baked goods. But my toast was toasty and cheap (80c) and the lady behind the counter was very kind 🙂

http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/druginfo/meds/a607028.html

Leave a Reply

