manual labor and happy chickens

Every week, for three hours, I get a reminder of how much I love manual labor– how tearing nails out of old chicken feeders in below zero weather gives me more satisfaction than putsing away at the library, even if I do lose circulation in my fingers. And how much I am interested in farming, farming like it was done before monopolies and monocultures. Farming that was supported and sustained by its community. Farming that’s services were appreciated in the same way we appreciate the doctor, the banker, the baker, and the store clerk. Farming is the start-point for a nourished self and a nourished community. Before money, medicine, and merriment comes maize, milk, and manzanas.

So here is to my past experience farming http://carletonstudentfarm.tumblr.com/

and to more where that came from.

leftovers for breakfast + farm kraut (my substitute for the flu vaccine= 2(+)tbsp of farm kraut/day) Why? http://www.viablecultures.com/fermented-foods/raw-sauerkraut.html

leftovers for breakfast + farm kraut (my substitute for the flu vaccine= 2(+)tbsp of farm kraut/day) Why? http://www.viablecultures.com/fermented-foods/raw-sauerkraut.html

another great vegan meal from Bon'Ap during my meeting about the CLEAN PLATE CLUB INITIATIVE.. foreground: indian lentils and chickpeas with boc choy and brown rice. background: house-made soy milk, a new recipe one of my favorite BA chefs is trying out (made with LOCAL soybeans!)

another great vegan meal from Bon’Ap during my meeting about the CLEAN PLATE CLUB INITIATIVE.. foreground: indian lentils and chickpeas with boc choy and brown rice. background: house-made soy milk, a new recipe one of my favorite BA chefs is trying out (made with LOCAL soybeans!)

These chickens listen to classical music all day, they've got it made.

These chickens listen to classical music all day, they’ve got it made.

goat peek-a-boo, made possibly by the wind and the door hinge.

goat peek-a-boo, made possibly by the wind and the door hinge.

they don't look cold at all!

they don’t look cold at all!

baaaaaaaaa

baaaaaaaaa

black bean and potato soup with kale and quinoa. sprinkled with tumeric and paprika.

black bean and potato soup with kale and quinoa. sprinkled with tumeric and paprika.

henry made some yummy cookies (and I helped)

henry made some yummy cookies (and I helped)

Leave a Reply

