major tor to ground control

I really hope you are there.

(David Bowie, Space Oddity)

I just awakened from a nap to the sound of clanging dishes
Before that I woke up to the cracking bumper of someone’s car
Prior to that I woke up to a hug from a good friend
Earlier than that I woke up to the smell of buckets of food waste
Previous to that I woke up to the support of some role models on campus
But ultimately I woke up to my alarm, at 6:11 this morning, after only getting 5 hours of sleep.

This is 5th week.
This is prioritizing homework over broomball or broomball over homework.
This is being behind and balanced or ahead and angsty
(the latter of which is never a reality for me)

Sometimes things really wake you up, you hear phrases that resonate, you are uplifted my a sweeping sense of community, or by being placed in an unconventional role.

Zombies are villians. I don’t want to be the bad guy. I am going to rearrange my list of priorities; sleep more, zom around less, and unhurry my life. Sleep might even take precedence over food (at least sometimes).

Less rush, more gratitude.
Less urgency, more faith.
I made it through today with hard work from the loved ones watching over me.
They shouldn’t have such a difficult job.

a large jar of granola precedes an empty jar and 17 smiling nibblers

a large jar of granola precedes an empty jar and 17 smiling nibblers

they saved me soup. it got crusty on the top while waiting. added complexity.

they saved me soup. it got crusty on the top while waiting. added complexity.

no knead bread, however it does need to be cooked for longer than I excpected.

no knead bread, however it does need to be cooked for longer than I allowed it to.

pizza dough for a cooking class untaught. life lesson learned.

pizza dough for a cooking class untaught. life lesson learned.

Leave a Reply

