mi aventura nueva – Lima, Peru

On Tuesday night I arrived in Lima after a long and challenging day of travels. Seis amigos de Carleton y yo stayed at a hostel that served us pan, marmalada, y cafe para el desayuno and we spent 3 days exploring the city. We feasted on cebiche, took part in a procession for Jesus in the center of Lima on Good Friday, took in some forceful cerca-al-ecuador rays of sunshine, and felt the misty ocean breeze. Today I met my host mom Rosana. She is lovely and patient with my Spanish-speaking. She lives on the third floor of an apartment, on the second floor lives Molly an American college student who wants to take me surfing (yippeee), and my host grandma lives on the first floor. After I unpacked we made a simple lunch and talked about nuestras familias y vidas y todas las cosas abajo del sol. After a nap and a skype to Rome to talk to my sister, Rosana and I headed to the market and came home to prepare a simple dinner of soup and salad. Estoy contenta. I spoke more Spanish today than I have en mi vida entera and I am excited for my first day of school tomorrow 🙂

IMG_0865

pan, marmalada, y cafe

IMG_0871

causa de atún

IMG_0880

frutas

IMG_0893

cerdo en la calle

IMG_0894

coco

IMG_0898

el rio rimac

IMG_0915

viernes santo

IMG_0918

un procesión por Jesús Cristo

IMG_0927

cebiche clasicó

IMG_0928

chicharones de calamar

IMG_0931

nom nom de todas

IMG_0937

baranco

IMG_0942

una niña linda

IMG_0950

no somos gringos

IMG_0951

la costa

IMG_0963

y el mar

Leave a Reply

