winter snow mak…

vegan spicy molasses bread.. adapted from this recipe. farm kitchen substitutions: sub ginger for 2 tsp cayanne pepper, sub margarine for canola oil. add 1/2 cup choco chips, 1/2 cup sunflower seeds. http://chelrabbit.com/2013/12/05/gingerbread-vegan/. quite good.

vegan spicy molasses bread.. adapted from this recipe. farm kitchen substitutions: sub ginger for 2 tsp cayanne pepper, sub margarine for canola oil. add 1/2 cup choco chips, 1/2 cup sunflower seeds. http://chelrabbit.com/2013/12/05/gingerbread-vegan/. quite good.

winter snow makes apparent the places where my path crosses with the footprints of others and allows me to contemplate our parallel existence. to follow the well-tramped snow or to carve though unsullied places in search of an adventure. to stumble along a path of unfamiliar footprints in search of a new friend. to see where the doe strode and wonder what she’s doing now.

School is here. Winter Term is starting. My professors are requesting that we “jump into the deep end” as they eagerly attempt to fill our brains with words and knowledge. I am enjoying my walks to and from Farm House — the crunch of the snow, the awakening chill, and the blankets of blankness that cover the soil are a perfect place to think. To think about something or about nothing at all. They are a break from treading in “the deep end” in my classes and from my lists of to-do’s that are accumulating faster than the snow. This warm house, my spicy friends, hearty veggie food, and these cold winter walks are all crucial for my survival this winter – for keeping my head afloat.

2 responses to “winter snow mak…

  1. Victoria-
    The vegan spicy bread sounds very interesting to say the least. We perhaps need to recreate that to try sometime!
    Just stopping in to make sure you are staying faithful to your wordpress 😉
    I’m loving all the snow lately and all the different activities it brings. I hope you are still getting an opportunity to cross country ski with your never ending to-do list. I’m sure it feels good to clear the head.
    As I prepare to go back to school, I am unsure if I remember how to study. Pray that it comes back quickly!
    Missing you!
    Much love,
    Kayla

Leave a Reply

