season of isolatation

I see nothing of the passerby, bundled up in winter wear

I find it hard to be friendly to the face whose mouth is buried by a scarf

A muffled hello would not equate to anything of intimacy

And besides, I am rushing to get to the next warming station,

a building where I will sit alone and do my work.

Are we smiling or are we sad?

 

It’s a hard cold – one that confines bursts of energy into buildings,

Makes even the sunniest people wonder about seasonal affective disorder,

And makes me think about loneliness.

 

Winter asks that I make adjustments.

 

I tried to workout inside last week and I missed the fresh air.

My new mantra says get outside. You are a fierce animal built to withstand.

I went running today despite the blustery cold

And it gave me confidence like I beast.

 

My housemate offered to lend me her “happy lamp”

I say yes, I’ll try anything.

Next step: Vitamin D supplements

 

Extreme weather cancels broomball games and immigration panels

But I won’t let the layers of artificial warmth that I clothe myself with replace the real things in life that make me feel warm.

The people I love and the activities that keep me regular.

 

To breathing in the cold.

 

Loneliness is lethal – http://www.newrepublic.com/article/113176/science-loneliness-how-isolation-can-kill-you

Fill your vessel. http://www.cleypmwg.com/in-the-news/2014/1/27/19-things-i-wish-someone-had-told-me-before-i-turned-20-so-i-didnt-waste-a-decade

Leave a Reply

